2020 TBR plans for January and February.

My current schedule for reading and reviews will be made up of a few that I was lucky to have received as eARCs towards the end of 2019, including a few really exciting books. My TBR for the rest of the year is not fully formed and have some that I absolutely cannot wait to tear into.

Last Smile In Sunder City by Luke Arnold and published by Orbit.

Product Description

A former soldier turned PI tries to help the fantasy creatures whose lives he ruined in a world that’s lost its magic in a compelling debut fantasy by Black Sails actor Luke Arnold.

Welcome to Sunder City. The magic is gone but the monsters remain.
I’m Fetch Phillips, just like it says on the window. There are a few things you should know before you hire me:
1. Sobriety costs extra.2. My services are confidential.3. I don’t work for humans.
It’s nothing personal–I’m human myself. But after what happened, to the magic, it’s not the humans who need my help.
Walk the streets of Sunder City and meet Fetch, his magical clients, and a darkly imagined world perfect for readers of Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher.

I received a copy through NetGalley. Currently about 30 percent through, having a lot of fun and really digging it.

Thank you to Net Galley and Orbit for providing the eARC in exchange for review.

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/41910151-the-last-smile-in-sunder-city

The intriguing futuristic dystopian story begun with The Lost Puzzler continues in this expansive speculative science fiction adventure.

There is nothing out of the ordinary in waking up . . . unless you’re dead.

Sent on a dangerous mission with little hope of succeeding, the man known as “Twinkle Eyes” has beaten the odds and found the key that could save civilization: Rafik, a teenage boy with the power to unlock the invaluable Tarakan technology that can restart their world. But the world might not be ready for what is unleashed, and now Twinkle Eyes must find a needle in a haystack in order to save himself . . . and perhaps the world.

This time, though, he will not go it alone. And while his companions—from the fiery Vincha to the laconic Galinak—have their own motivations, each will be vital in solving the last grand puzzle. One that could bring prosperity and progress to the world or destroy humanity’s last hope for ascension.

Now, a lone assassin from another era, two old friends, a dead man, a ruthless rogue mercenary, and a vicious warlord are all hunting for the ultimate prize. But what will happen when the final secret is unlocked, and technology long since buried once again finds its way into the hands of mankind?

About the Author

Eyal Kless is a classical violinist who enjoys an international career both as a performer and a teacher. Born in Israel, Eyal has travelled the world extensively, living several years in Dublin, London, Manchester, and Vienna, before returning to Tel Aviv. His first novel, Rocca’s Violin, was published in Hebrew in 2008 by Korim Publishers. Eyal currently teaches violin in the Buchmann-Mehta School of Music at Tel Aviv University, and performs with the Israel Haydn String Quartet, which he founded.

Next up will be The Puzzlers War by Eyal Kless and published by HarperCollins.

I really loved The Lost Puzzler, definitely in my top 10, if I had made a top 10 list for 2019. Also, I believe, worthy of much more buzz than it seems like it received. The fact the he’s an extremely talented professional musician and creates extraordinary dystopian/steampunk fantasy, shows what an amazing talent he is.

Thank you to HarperCollins and Net Galley as well for the eARC in exchange for a review!

Parasites https://www.amazon.com/dp/1081336692/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_D2kiEbF97P0AR

Next will be Parasites by Matthew Samuels which was self published. I received a physical copy of the book from the author, which was an awesome gesture on his part. I can’t wait to read a book defined as “Solarpunk”

Product description

Parasites is a YA science fiction, solarpunk exploration novel that takes place at the end of the universe, just as it slowly starts to contract in the ‘big crunch’. On the planet Lyra, humans evolved late, on a resource-poor world, in a resource-poor solar system. The Lyrans master space flight, only to discover that their nearest worlds have also been stripped of resources. The population begins to decline, until a scientist discovers a technology allowing people and vehicles to travel through ‘thinnings’ – patches of space linking universes.Kael and Alessia are explorers, charting where the thinnings go and bringing valuable resources back to Lyra, trying desperately to extend the lifespan of their home world. Alessia’s father, Ben, set out two years ago to uncover another species’ reference to a ‘solution’ to the big crunch problem – but never returned. A chance discovery leads Kael and Alessia to a clue, prompting another expedition to see if they can avoid the mistakes of the past and help to unravel the mystery.Kael, Alessia and their gruff bodyguard Basteel retrace Ben’s steps, seeking closure for Alessia, a solution for Lyra and together begin a voyage through wild, weird and wonderful planets.

Gideon The Ninth

Product Description

She answered the Emperor’s call.

She arrived with her arts, her wits, and her only friend.

In victory, her world has turned to ash.

After rocking the cosmos with her deathly debut, Tamsyn Muir continues the story of the penumbral Ninth House in Harrow the Ninth, a mind-twisting puzzle box of mystery, murder, magic, and mayhem. Nothing is as it seems in the halls of the Emperor, and the fate of the galaxy rests on one woman’s shoulders.

Harrowhark Nonagesimus, last necromancer of the Ninth House, has been drafted by her Emperor to fight an unwinnable war. Side-by-side with a detested rival, Harrow must perfect her skills and become an angel of undeath — but her health is failing, her sword makes her nauseous, and even her mind is threatening to betray her.

Sealed in the gothic gloom of the Emperor’s Mithraeum with three unfriendly teachers, hunted by the mad ghost of a murdered planet, Harrow must confront two unwelcome questions: is somebody trying to kill her? And if they succeeded, would the universe be better off?

THE LOCKED TOMB TRILOGY
BOOK 1: Gideon the Ninth
BOOK 2: Harrow the Ninth
BOOK 3: Alecto the Ninth

Okay. Another book I have plans on is Harrow the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir. Gideon The Ninth was out of this world maniacal madness, centered around a main character who loves her sword and always seems to have gotten up on the wrong side of the bed. However, you can’t help but love her. This book will be based on the necromancer that Gideon had been previously been “serving.”

Check out this book on Goodreads: Harrow the Ninth http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/39325105-harrow-the-ninth